Groups | Search | Server Info | Keyboard shortcuts | Login | Register [http] [https] [nntp] [nntps]


Groups > linux.debian.user > #227664 > unrolled thread

Trimming boundary of image in GIMP.

Started bypeter@easthope.ca
First post2020-10-07 20:40 +0200
Last post2020-10-10 22:40 +0200
Articles 11 — 4 participants

Back to article view | Back to linux.debian.user


Contents

  Trimming boundary of image in GIMP. peter@easthope.ca - 2020-10-07 20:40 +0200
    Re: Trimming boundary of image in GIMP. Tixy <tixy@yxit.co.uk> - 2020-10-07 21:30 +0200
      Re: Trimming boundary of image in GIMP. peter@easthope.ca - 2020-10-08 06:20 +0200
        Re: Trimming boundary of image in GIMP. Tixy <tixy@yxit.co.uk> - 2020-10-08 09:40 +0200
          Re: Trimming boundary of image in GIMP. Tixy <tixy@yxit.co.uk> - 2020-10-08 09:40 +0200
            Re: Trimming boundary of image in GIMP. Tixy <tixy@yxit.co.uk> - 2020-10-08 09:50 +0200
            Re: Trimming boundary of image in GIMP. peter@easthope.ca - 2020-10-08 22:10 +0200
              Re: Trimming boundary of image in GIMP. Tixy <tixy@yxit.co.uk> - 2020-10-08 23:30 +0200
    Re: Trimming boundary of image in GIMP. <tomas@tuxteam.de> - 2020-10-08 10:20 +0200
    Re: Trimming boundary of image in GIMP. The Wanderer <wanderer@fastmail.fm> - 2020-10-08 22:20 +0200
      Re: Trimming boundary of image in GIMP. peter@easthope.ca - 2020-10-10 22:40 +0200

#227664 — Trimming boundary of image in GIMP.

Frompeter@easthope.ca
Date2020-10-07 20:40 +0200
SubjectTrimming boundary of image in GIMP.
Message-ID<AXmw2-1Bj-5@gated-at.bofh.it>
Until recently the routine for trimming the boundary of an image was,
(1) Select > All,
(2) grab a boundary with pointer and drag it toward the center,
(3) drag other boundaries in a similar way until the desired boundary 
was indicated,
(4) Image > Crop to Selection.  
Done.

Appears that an update since the last time I used GIMP added a new 
feature. (?) Now left and right boundaries are linked with top and 
bottom boundaries. Dragging the top boundary pulls the sides in 
simultaneously. =8~(

There must be cases where that is helpful but what if the objective is 
to change only one boundary?  The top for example.  I've tried 
unlinking Width and Height in Layer > Layer to Boundary Size. No dice.

I've tried holding <Shift>, <Ctrl> or <Alt> while dragging a boundary. 
No dice.

How is the new feature overridden?

Thx,                  ... P.

-- 
Tel: +1 604 670 0140            Bcc: peter at easthope. ca

[toc] | [next] | [standalone]


#227665

FromTixy <tixy@yxit.co.uk>
Date2020-10-07 21:30 +0200
Message-ID<AXniq-2ey-13@gated-at.bofh.it>
In reply to#227664
On Wed, 2020-10-07 at 10:49 -0700, peter@easthope.ca wrote:
> Until recently the routine for trimming the boundary of an image was,
> (1) Select > All,
> (2) grab a boundary with pointer and drag it toward the center,
> (3) drag other boundaries in a similar way until the desired
> boundary 
> was indicated,
> (4) Image > Crop to Selection.  
> Done.
> 
> Appears that an update since the last time I used GIMP added a new 
> feature. (?) Now left and right boundaries are linked with top and 
> bottom boundaries. Dragging the top boundary pulls the sides in 
> simultaneously. =8~(

I've always used the Rectangle Select tool by press the 'R' key (may be
different in no English locales?). That lets you select a rectangle by
clicking then dragging, and you can alter the selection by dragging he
sides and corners by putting the cursor inside the selection near the
edge.

I notice that Gimp remembers the last selection tool you used when
starting up, so maybe that's affecting the behaviour you see? E.g. for
me, after opening and image in Gimp, after Select All, trying to click
the selection border doesn't work, I just end up creating a new
selection because Rectangle Select is active as that was the last tool
I used before closing Gimp. In fact, I can't see how to select 'no
selection tool', I can just change it to the another type from the
menu, but there is no 'None'...

-- 
Tixy

 

[toc] | [prev] | [next] | [standalone]


#227670

Frompeter@easthope.ca
Date2020-10-08 06:20 +0200
Message-ID<AXvzk-7K6-5@gated-at.bofh.it>
In reply to#227665
From: Tixy <tixy@yxit.co.uk>
Date: Wed, 07 Oct 2020 20:24:01 +0100
> I've always used the Rectangle Select tool by press the 'R' key .

Yes, I've used rectangle select for years.  Unfortunately it is now square select.
In this GIMP at least.  Is there an aspect ratio setting somewhere?

> I notice that Gimp remembers the last selection tool you used when
> starting up, so maybe that's affecting the behaviour you see? 

Rectangle select can be chosen before any other action.  Unfortunately 
the "rectangle" here is constrained to square.

Thanks,                             ... P.

-- 
Tel: +1 604 670 0140            Bcc: peter at easthope. ca

[toc] | [prev] | [next] | [standalone]


#227672

FromTixy <tixy@yxit.co.uk>
Date2020-10-08 09:40 +0200
Message-ID<AXyGR-1lN-3@gated-at.bofh.it>
In reply to#227670
On Wed, 2020-10-07 at 20:31 -0700, peter@easthope.ca wrote:
> From: Tixy <tixy@yxit.co.uk>
> Date: Wed, 07 Oct 2020 20:24:01 +0100
> > I've always used the Rectangle Select tool by press the 'R' key .
> 
> Yes, I've used rectangle select for years.  Unfortunately it is now square select.
> In this GIMP at least.  Is there an aspect ratio setting somewhere?

Not that I know. For me, with up-to-date Buster install, the Rectangle
Select is only 'square select' if you click inside the corners of the
selection box. In fact, hovering the mouse inside the selection box
shows an area to grab, which is either a square (if it's in the
corner), or a rectangle along a side where you can drag just that side.
The mouse pointer also changes to indicate the selection type.

-- 
Tixy 

[toc] | [prev] | [next] | [standalone]


#227673

FromTixy <tixy@yxit.co.uk>
Date2020-10-08 09:40 +0200
Message-ID<AXyGR-1lN-1@gated-at.bofh.it>
In reply to#227672

[Multipart message — attachments visible in raw view] — view raw

On Thu, 2020-10-08 at 08:32 +0100, Tixy wrote:
> Not that I know. For me, with up-to-date Buster install, the Rectangle
> Select is only 'square select' if you click inside the corners of the
> selection box. In fact, hovering the mouse inside the selection box
> shows an area to grab, which is either a square (if it's in the
> corner), or a rectangle along a side where you can drag just that side.
> The mouse pointer also changes to indicate the selection type.

I've attached screenshots of this...

[toc] | [prev] | [next] | [standalone]


#227674

FromTixy <tixy@yxit.co.uk>
Date2020-10-08 09:50 +0200
Message-ID<AXyQx-1pg-1@gated-at.bofh.it>
In reply to#227673
On Thu, 2020-10-08 at 08:37 +0100, Tixy wrote:
> I've attached screenshots of this...

Ah, I just noticed that the screenshot program didn't include the
modified mouse pointer I see, it just added a generic pointer. But they
do show the selection area I describe.

-- 
Tixy

[toc] | [prev] | [next] | [standalone]


#227699

Frompeter@easthope.ca
Date2020-10-08 22:10 +0200
Message-ID<AXKoF-qp-3@gated-at.bofh.it>
In reply to#227673
    From: Tixy <tixy@yxit.co.uk>
    Date: Thu, 08 Oct 2020 08:37:33 +0100
> I've attached screenshots of this...

Same behaviour here until attempting to drag top downward. 

Open GIMP in debian 10,
open a rectangular image,
choose the selection tool (might not be necessary),
Select > All,
grab top boundary and drag downward, (top; not corner)
left and right side boundaries immediately contract inward to make the boundary square.

Result visible here.  http://easthope.ca/GIMP.png

Thanks for the replies,                        ... P.


-- 
Tel: +1 604 670 0140            Bcc: peter at easthope. ca

[toc] | [prev] | [next] | [standalone]


#227701

FromTixy <tixy@yxit.co.uk>
Date2020-10-08 23:30 +0200
Message-ID<AXLE6-17I-3@gated-at.bofh.it>
In reply to#227699
On Thu, 2020-10-08 at 12:43 -0700, peter@easthope.ca wrote:
>     From: Tixy <tixy@yxit.co.uk>
>     Date: Thu, 08 Oct 2020 08:37:33 +0100
> > I've attached screenshots of this...
> 
> Same behaviour here until attempting to drag top downward. 
> 
> Open GIMP in debian 10,
> open a rectangular image,
> choose the selection tool (might not be necessary),
> Select > All,
> grab top boundary and drag downward, (top; not corner)

I guess I was doing different things, I'm select an area using the
Rectangle Select tool then changing it, but you are selecting an area
with Select All then trying to drag the boundary of that area. For me
the latter doesn't work, because clicking anywhere starts just starts
using whatever tool is currently selected tool, for me, there doesn't
seem to be a way to interact with the area Select All creates.

-- 
Tixy

[toc] | [prev] | [next] | [standalone]


#227675

From<tomas@tuxteam.de>
Date2020-10-08 10:20 +0200
Message-ID<AXzjz-1YL-1@gated-at.bofh.it>
In reply to#227664

[Multipart message — attachments visible in raw view] — view raw

On Wed, Oct 07, 2020 at 10:49:32AM -0700, peter@easthope.ca wrote:
> Until recently the routine for trimming the boundary of an image was,

Doesn't happen here (Gimp 2.10.8 -- Debian package 2.10.8-2). Rectangle
selection also behaves "normal" (i.e. it doesn't force a square).

This assuming that I did understand what you're talking about: this what
you call "borders" are what Gimp calls "guides", right?

Cheers
 - t

[toc] | [prev] | [next] | [standalone]


#227700

FromThe Wanderer <wanderer@fastmail.fm>
Date2020-10-08 22:20 +0200
Message-ID<AXKym-tV-3@gated-at.bofh.it>
In reply to#227664

[Multipart message — attachments visible in raw view] — view raw

On 2020-10-07 at 13:49, peter@easthope.ca wrote:

> Until recently the routine for trimming the boundary of an image was,
> (1) Select > All,
> (2) grab a boundary with pointer and drag it toward the center,
> (3) drag other boundaries in a similar way until the desired boundary
> was indicated,
> (4) Image > Crop to Selection.  
> Done.
> 
> Appears that an update since the last time I used GIMP added a new
> feature. (?) Now left and right boundaries are linked with top and
> bottom boundaries. Dragging the top boundary pulls the sides in
> simultaneously. =8~(
> 
> There must be cases where that is helpful but what if the objective
> is to change only one boundary?  The top for example.  I've tried
> unlinking Width and Height in Layer > Layer to Boundary Size. No
> dice.
> 
> I've tried holding <Shift>, <Ctrl> or <Alt> while dragging a
> boundary. No dice.
> 
> How is the new feature overridden?

This sounds as if the rectangle selection tool's "Fixed" option has been
selected, and set to "Aspect Ratio". (The other options are "Width",
"Height", and "Size".)

Look in the toolbox (for me it appears at the side, but you may have it
set up otherwise), and see what you find for this setting.

The relevant toolbox and area are shown (highlighted by red border) in a
screenshot on this question:

https://superuser.com/questions/463585/how-to-set-a-custom-sized-rectangle-select-area-in-gimp

That

-- 
   The Wanderer

The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one
persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all
progress depends on the unreasonable man.         -- George Bernard Shaw

[toc] | [prev] | [next] | [standalone]


#227717

Frompeter@easthope.ca
Date2020-10-10 22:40 +0200
Message-ID<AYtOO-3Yu-7@gated-at.bofh.it>
In reply to#227700
From: The Wanderer <wanderer@fastmail.fm>
Date: Thu, 08 Oct 2020 16:10:04 -0400
> This sounds as if the rectangle selection tool's "Fixed" option has been
> selected, and set to "Aspect Ratio".

That's it.  The aspect ratio was fixed at 1:1. 

Didn't make the setting deliberately.  Clicked the box when half 
asleep?

Thanks!                           ... P.


-- 
Tel: +1 604 670 0140            Bcc: peter at easthope. ca

[toc] | [prev] | [standalone]


Back to top | Article view | linux.debian.user


csiph-web