Groups | Search | Server Info | Keyboard shortcuts | Login | Register [http] [https] [nntp] [nntps]


Groups > comp.sys.mac.system > #57165 > unrolled thread

Shared Disk Disappears after Unmounting

Started byNelson <nelson@nowhere.com>
First post2014-02-27 11:23 -0500
Last post2014-02-28 11:45 -0500
Articles 5 — 2 participants

Back to article view | Back to comp.sys.mac.system


Contents

  Shared Disk Disappears after Unmounting Nelson <nelson@nowhere.com> - 2014-02-27 11:23 -0500
    Re: Shared Disk Disappears after Unmounting Jolly Roger <jollyroger@pobox.com> - 2014-02-27 18:31 +0000
      Re: Shared Disk Disappears after Unmounting Nelson <nelson@nowhere.com> - 2014-02-27 15:29 -0500
        Re: Shared Disk Disappears after Unmounting Jolly Roger <jollyroger@pobox.com> - 2014-02-27 21:19 +0000
          Re: Shared Disk Disappears after Unmounting Nelson <nelson@nowhere.com> - 2014-02-28 11:45 -0500

#57165 — Shared Disk Disappears after Unmounting

FromNelson <nelson@nowhere.com>
Date2014-02-27 11:23 -0500
SubjectShared Disk Disappears after Unmounting
Message-ID<0001HW.CF34D0AD0000A7DAB01029BF@news.astraweb.com>
I have a disk connected to computer "A" which is shared on my Local 
Area Network.  If the shared disk is mounted on computer "B" and is 
force-dismounted by computer "A", eg by Disk Utility, naturally it 
disappears from the desktop on "B".  However, when it is remounted for 
sharing on "A", it no longer appears in the shared volumes list as seen 
by "B".  The only way I have found to have it reappear is to reboot 
"B".  Surely there must be a less drastic way to have it reappear.

-- 
Nelson

[toc] | [next] | [standalone]


#57174

FromJolly Roger <jollyroger@pobox.com>
Date2014-02-27 18:31 +0000
Message-ID<bn9ejkFesq3U2@mid.individual.net>
In reply to#57165
On 2014-02-27, Nelson <nelson@nowhere.com> wrote:
> I have a disk connected to computer "A" which is shared on my Local 
> Area Network.  If the shared disk is mounted on computer "B" and is 
> force-dismounted by computer "A", eg by Disk Utility, naturally it 
> disappears from the desktop on "B".  However, when it is remounted for 
> sharing on "A", it no longer appears in the shared volumes list as seen 
> by "B".  The only way I have found to have it reappear is to reboot 
> "B".  Surely there must be a less drastic way to have it reappear.

I'm curious: Why are you force dismounting it rather than ejecting it
normally?

-- 
E-mail sent to this address may be devoured by my ravenous SPAM filter.
I often ignore posts from Google. Use a real news client instead.

JR

[toc] | [prev] | [next] | [standalone]


#57180

FromNelson <nelson@nowhere.com>
Date2014-02-27 15:29 -0500
Message-ID<0001HW.CF350A68000E2F75B01029BF@news.astraweb.com>
In reply to#57174
On Thu, 27 Feb 2014 13:31:17 -0500, Jolly Roger wrote
(in article <bn9ejkFesq3U2@mid.individual.net>):

> On 2014-02-27, Nelson <nelson@nowhere.com> wrote:
>> I have a disk connected to computer "A" which is shared on my Local 
>> Area Network.  If the shared disk is mounted on computer "B" and is 
>> force-dismounted by computer "A", eg by Disk Utility, naturally it 
>> disappears from the desktop on "B".  However, when it is remounted for 
>> sharing on "A", it no longer appears in the shared volumes list as seen 
>> by "B".  The only way I have found to have it reappear is to reboot 
>> "B".  Surely there must be a less drastic way to have it reappear.
> 
> I'm curious: Why are you force dismounting it rather than ejecting it
> normally?

Inattention.  I don't realize it's mounted elsewhere at the time and I 
run Disk Utility to check it before using CCC to back it up.  Disk 
Utility doesn't give any warning that it's mounted elsewhere.  It just 
dismounts it.

I'm not looking for a "Well, don't do that" solution.  I'd like to know 
why it doesn't reappear when it is remounted and how to make it 
reappear.


-- 
Nelson

[toc] | [prev] | [next] | [standalone]


#57185

FromJolly Roger <jollyroger@pobox.com>
Date2014-02-27 21:19 +0000
Message-ID<bn9ofrFgtegU2@mid.individual.net>
In reply to#57180
On 2014-02-27, Nelson <nelson@nowhere.com> wrote:
> On Thu, 27 Feb 2014 13:31:17 -0500, Jolly Roger wrote
> (in article <bn9ejkFesq3U2@mid.individual.net>):
>
>> On 2014-02-27, Nelson <nelson@nowhere.com> wrote:
>>> I have a disk connected to computer "A" which is shared on my Local 
>>> Area Network.  If the shared disk is mounted on computer "B" and is 
>>> force-dismounted by computer "A", eg by Disk Utility, naturally it 
>>> disappears from the desktop on "B".  However, when it is remounted for 
>>> sharing on "A", it no longer appears in the shared volumes list as seen 
>>> by "B".  The only way I have found to have it reappear is to reboot 
>>> "B".  Surely there must be a less drastic way to have it reappear.
>> 
>> I'm curious: Why are you force dismounting it rather than ejecting it
>> normally?
>
> Inattention.  I don't realize it's mounted elsewhere at the time and I 
> run Disk Utility to check it before using CCC to back it up.  Disk 
> Utility doesn't give any warning that it's mounted elsewhere.  It just 
> dismounts it.
>
> I'm not looking for a "Well, don't do that" solution.

I didn't think you were looking for such an answer - hence the "I'm
curious" above.

> I'd like to know why it doesn't reappear when it is remounted and how
> to make it reappear.

One obvious answer might be because you unmounted it in such a way that
the OS isn't able to do so. Examination of the console and system logs
might give you more details about what's going wrong when you
subsequently mount it.

-- 
E-mail sent to this address may be devoured by my ravenous SPAM filter.
I often ignore posts from Google. Use a real news client instead.

JR

[toc] | [prev] | [next] | [standalone]


#57248

FromNelson <nelson@nowhere.com>
Date2014-02-28 11:45 -0500
Message-ID<0001HW.CF36276A00375B2FB01029BF@news.astraweb.com>
In reply to#57185
On Thu, 27 Feb 2014 16:19:55 -0500, Jolly Roger wrote
(in article <bn9ofrFgtegU2@mid.individual.net>):

> On 2014-02-27, Nelson <nelson@nowhere.com> wrote:
>> On Thu, 27 Feb 2014 13:31:17 -0500, Jolly Roger wrote
>> (in article <bn9ejkFesq3U2@mid.individual.net>):
>> 
>>> On 2014-02-27, Nelson <nelson@nowhere.com> wrote:
>>>> I have a disk connected to computer "A" which is shared on my Local 
>>>> Area Network.  If the shared disk is mounted on computer "B" and is 
>>>> force-dismounted by computer "A", eg by Disk Utility, naturally it 
>>>> disappears from the desktop on "B".  However, when it is remounted for 
>>>> sharing on "A", it no longer appears in the shared volumes list as seen 
>>>> by "B".  The only way I have found to have it reappear is to reboot 
>>>> "B".  Surely there must be a less drastic way to have it reappear.
>>> 
>>> I'm curious: Why are you force dismounting it rather than ejecting it
>>> normally?
>> 
>> Inattention.  I don't realize it's mounted elsewhere at the time and I 
>> run Disk Utility to check it before using CCC to back it up.  Disk 
>> Utility doesn't give any warning that it's mounted elsewhere.  It just 
>> dismounts it.
>> 
>> I'm not looking for a "Well, don't do that" solution.
> 
> I didn't think you were looking for such an answer - hence the "I'm
> curious" above.
> 
>> I'd like to know why it doesn't reappear when it is remounted and how
>> to make it reappear.
> 
> One obvious answer might be because you unmounted it in such a way that
> the OS isn't able to do so. Examination of the console and system logs
> might give you more details about what's going wrong when you
> subsequently mount it.

Hmm.  I just tried it again intentionally.  Disk Utility unmounts it 
and verifies it without "B" receiving any indication and the disk stays 
mounted on "B".  I tried to open it on "B" while it was still unmounted 
on "A" and got the "Disk is unavailable and will be unmounted" message. 
 But when the verify finished on "A" and the disk was remounted, I was 
able to see it again from "B" and remount it.  Go figure.  I guess 
something else causes the original problem I am seeing.

Something is intermittently causing it to disappear from "B"'s desktop 
without warning and then to disappear from the shared volumes list in 
the Finder even though it is still mounted on "A".  And rebooting "B" 
fixes it.

-- 
Nelson

[toc] | [prev] | [standalone]


Back to top | Article view | comp.sys.mac.system


csiph-web