Groups | Search | Server Info | Keyboard shortcuts | Login | Register [http] [https] [nntp] [nntps]


Groups > comp.mail.headers > #13 > unrolled thread

Re: X-Mailer and X-MimeOLE lines

Started byalicerobertamccullum@gmail.com
First post2013-03-25 01:38 -0700
Last post2013-03-25 23:09 -0400
Articles 2 — 2 participants

Back to article view | Back to comp.mail.headers

This discussion starts older than the indexed window; earlier articles aren't shown. The article labeled Started by below is the oldest one visible, not the original post.


Contents

  Re: X-Mailer and X-MimeOLE lines alicerobertamccullum@gmail.com - 2013-03-25 01:38 -0700
    Re: X-Mailer and X-MimeOLE lines Spam Guy <Spam@Guy.com> - 2013-03-25 23:09 -0400

#13 — Re: X-Mailer and X-MimeOLE lines

Fromalicerobertamccullum@gmail.com
Date2013-03-25 01:38 -0700
SubjectRe: X-Mailer and X-MimeOLE lines
Message-ID<fab9e810-1e09-4d81-9f32-989c6382f68a@googlegroups.com>
On Saturday, December 16, 2006 8:51:55 PM UTC-5, Spam Guy wrote:
> I know we just had a discussion about x-header lines.
> 
> What I'd like to know about this is this:  Is there a web-resource
> that can tell me if this is valid:
> 
> X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook, Build 10.0.2605
> 
> and if it normally would be accompanied by this:
> 
> X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2800.1106
> 
> I've been adding X-Mailer and X-MimeOLE entries to my custom spam
> filtering list, and I'm trying to decipher bogus ones from valid ones.
> 
> For example, I have no valid or good e-mail that has the X-Mailer line
> as indicated above, but I have a few dozen spams that do.
> 
> On a more general note, I guess that if X-Mailer: contains "Outlook",
> then there must be an X-MimeOLE line (containing something) or again
> you've got spam?  I have about 7800 such e-mails dating back from 2002
> to the present like that, and they're all spam.
I have no idea what this is all about. I have never used SPAM to my knowledge. If I did it was totally not intended. It looks like someone has hacked into my gmail address which I no longer use. I have no idea who kingpi is either. Nor lumber cartel.Please remove me from any of your locations and contacts. Thank you.AliceRoberta I do not care to hear anymore about this nor want any trouble regarding this.

[toc] | [next] | [standalone]


#14

FromSpam Guy <Spam@Guy.com>
Date2013-03-25 23:09 -0400
Message-ID<51511174.AD258CEF@Guy.com>
In reply to#13
alicerobertamccullum @ gmail.com wrote:
 
> On Saturday, December 16, 2006 8:51:55 PM UTC-5, Spam Guy (me) wrote:
>
> > I know we just had a discussion about x-header lines.

(...)

Wow, that's a blast from the past, isin't it?

> I have no idea what this is all about. I have never used SPAM to
> my knowledge. If I did it was totally not intended. 

The strangeness continues...

> It looks like someone has hacked into my gmail address which I
> no longer use. I have no idea who kingpi is either. Nor lumber
> cartel.

That makes two of us.

> Please remove me from any of your locations and contacts.
> Thank you.
> AliceRoberta 

And I thought we were just getting to know each other...

> I do not care to hear anymore about this nor want any trouble
> regarding this.

Hey - Don't get insolent with me.

[toc] | [prev] | [standalone]


Back to top | Article view | comp.mail.headers


csiph-web