Path: csiph.com!v102.xanadu-bbs.net!xanadu-bbs.net!feeder.erje.net!us.feeder.erje.net!newsfeed.fsmpi.rwth-aachen.de!eternal-september.org!feeder.eternal-september.org!news.eternal-september.org!.POSTED!not-for-mail From: Michelle Steiner Newsgroups: comp.sys.mac.system Subject: Re: Spotlight & Other Changes in Mavericks Date: Tue, 05 Nov 2013 08:59:29 -0700 Organization: A noiseless patient Spider Lines: 45 Message-ID: <051120130859298251%foo@bar.com> References: <2013110215163944927-savageduck1@REMOVESPAMmecom> <2013110216432269775-savageduck1@REMOVESPAMmecom> <041120131311550044%nospam@nospam.invalid> <051120130959034227%nospam@nospam.invalid> Mime-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1 Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit Injection-Info: mx05.eternal-september.org; posting-host="8b819003531285591ae70ba618133493"; logging-data="10342"; mail-complaints-to="abuse@eternal-september.org"; posting-account="U2FsdGVkX180OqEiCQWBTQx0tklYzCX56jojPwgr14c=" User-Agent: Thoth/1.9.0 (Mac OS X) Cancel-Lock: sha1:F+/5ebANF1OZVV/fXJGGGC65Dow= Mail-Copies-To: nobody Xref: csiph.com comp.sys.mac.system:51879 In article <051120130959034227%nospam@nospam.invalid>, nospam wrote: > the versioning system forces the user to duplicate first because it's > going to autosave any changes to the original, whether you want it to > or not. you have to plan in advance that you are going to make another > copy, and you may not know this when you first open the file. > > without versioning, you can decide at any time to save to a new copy, > which will leave the original untouched. there is no need to revert > back because the original is still the way it was. Here is a summary, some of which is redundant to the preceding discussion, but included for completeness. Before Lion, there were two, and sometimes three, save options. Assuming that the document has already been saved: Save did what it says; it saved the document as it was and left it open for further revisions. Save As retained the previously saved document with the same name, created and saved a new document with the new name, leaving it open for further revisions. Save a copy (or Save a copy as), which only some applications employed, retained the previously saved document with the same name, keeping it open for further revisions, and created and saved a copy of the document with the new name without opening it. With Lion and afterwards, there are Save, Duplicate, and (as of Mountain Lion) Save As (which is accessed by pressing the option key; it then replaces Duplicate): Save acts similarly to Save a Copy in the older method, except that all but the most recently saved version is visible and available through the Finder. If you want a previous version, you have to open the current version and use the Restore option. Duplicate creates a duplicate copy of the document without saving either; however, the duplicate copy does not have the previously saved versions of the original. Save As behaves the same as it did before Lion.